Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge – Winners

MCA Namibia hands over tourism projects
February 13, 2014
Launch of Namibia’s fifth Ramsar Site Today
February 14, 2014
PHOTO: Michael Pretorius  and Martin Freyer of Team Kia
Martin Freyer won the 2014 Omaruru Spar Cycle Challenge by a fraction of a second ahead of two other riders on Sunday.

The three riders all clocked two hours, 38 minutes and 23 seconds, but Freyer was the fastest, with Michael Pretorius ending second and Tjipe Murangi third over the 106 kilometers race.
They led a fiercely contested sprint to the line with the top seven cyclists all finishing within a second of each other.

Jerneil Barth came fourth, Fiffy Kashululu fifth, Ingram Cuff sixth and Pascal Marggraff seventh.

Freyer told Nampa after the race that it was easy as the route was quite flat.
“The hotspots (uphill areas) were quite a challenge, but on the way back we worked as a team and managed to come in as a team,” said the 18-year-old. 

Pretorius said the race was tough, and the long slopes claimed its toll on the legs.
“On our way back the hills were quite steep and the nose wind was against us. There was no way to make a big break, so we crossed the line in a big bunch,” he told this reporter. 
The race drew about 300 participants from across Namibia.

Irene Steyn was a comfortable winner of the Elite Women’s category in 2:45:53, followed by Wanda Tattersall (3:01:52) and Lerike Burger (3:05:29).

Nick du Plessis won the Veteran Men’s category in 2:38:28, followed by Eugene Spangenberg (2:45:45) and Christopher du Plessis (2:50:08), while David Birch won the Masters Men’s category in 2:45:48, followed by Andre Huyshamen (2:50:07) and Gerhard Mans senior (2:50:08).

Norbert Mayer won the Men’s 60km category in 1:41:54, with Israel Alfred finishing a split second behind and Markus Shinyemba coming third in 1:49:14.

Tersia van Zyl won the Women’s 60km category in 1:54:32, followed by Mandy Huyshamen (1:54:34) and Sigi Bassingthwaighte (2:00:14).

Martin Sheya won the Junior Men’s category over 60km in 1:58:25, followed by Paulus Sheya (2:16:04) and Wallace Renton (2:37:25) while Charlise Vermaak won the Junior Women’s 60km category in 2:17:45, followed by Sofia Simon (2:38:08). –


106 km (men)

1. Martin Freyer – 2:38:22

2. Michael Pretorius – 2:38:23

3. Tjipe Murangi – 2:38:23

106 km (women)

1. Irene Steyn – 2:45:53

2. Wanda Tattersall – 3:01:52

3. Lerike Burger – 3:05:29

60 km (men)

1. Norbert Meyer – 1:41:54

2. Israel Alfred – 1:41:54

3. Markus Shinyemba – 1:49:14

60 km (women)

1. Tertia van Zyl – 1:54:32

2. Mandy Huysamen – 1:54:34

3. Sigi Bassingthwaighte – 2:00:14

106 km (veteran men)

1. Nick du Plessis – 2:38:28

2. Eugene Spangenberg – 2:45:45

3. Christopher du Plessis – 2:50:08

106 km (master men)

1. David Birch – 2:45:28

2. Andre Huysamen – 2:50:07

3. Gerhard Mans (Snr) – 2:50:00

60 km (junior men)

1. Martin Sheya – 1:58:28

2. Paulus Sheya – 2:16:04

3. Wallace Renton – 2:37:25

60 km (junior women)

1. Charlise Vermaak – 2:17:45

2. Sophia Simon – 2:38:08

Travel News Namibia
Travel News Namibia
Travel News Namibia is a high-quality glossy Namibia travel and lifestyle magazine tasked with promoting Namibia to the world. With riveting stories, first-hand encounters and magnificent photographs showcasing tourism, travel, nature, adventure and conservation, TNN is the ultimate and most comprehensive guide to exploring Namibia. Travel News Namibia is published in five different editions per year. These include four English- language editions and one German. Travel News Namibia is for sale in Namibia and South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Magazine Subscription

    Please fill out the form below and we will get in touch with you


    Full Name


    Delivery address

    Namibia - N$ 210

    International - €50

    EFT Direct Deposits can be made to the following account:

    Account Name: Venture Publications (Pty) Ltd

    Bank : Bank Windhoek

    Branch code: 48-19-72-00, Windhoek

    Swift code: BWLINANX

    Acknowledgement of payment will only be made upon receipt of a deposit slip.

    Deposit slips can be e-mailed together with subscription form to

      Contact Us

      Please fill out the form below and we will get in touch with you

      Your Name (required)

      Your Email (required)


      Your Message